Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Shantha, Shivalkar, Goel get BCCI recognition

Shantha Rangaswamy

Former domestic cricket giants Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar, who were not fortunate enough to play for India, were yesterday nominated for the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award alongside former national captain Shantha Rangaswamy, who became the first woman to be chosen for the honour. The BCCI announced that left-arm spinners Goel and Shivalkar would be feted at its annual awards in Bangalore on March 8.

“If I was lucky enough to bowl just three-four overs in a Test, that would have been the biggest award for me. But still, I am happy now. I got what was in my destiny. Though I faced a lot of negligence in the past (from BCCI), I need to respect the new body,” Shivalkar told mid-day yesterday.

Shivalkar and Goel, playing for Mumbai and Haryana respectively, ruled domestic cricket for years. Goel ended his career with a staggering 750 first-class wickets, including 637 scalps in the Ranji Trophy, the most by any bowler in tournament’s history. Shivalkar played 124 first-class games and claimed 589 wickets. He picked up 42 five-wicket hauls and on 13 occasions claimed 10 or more in a match.

“The committee consisting of N Ram, Ramachandra Guha and Diana Edulji believed that BCCI needs to recognise the services rendered by Goel and Shivalkar who were not fortunate enough to play for India,” the BCCI said in a statement.

It will be another first for women’s cricket when Rangaswamy receives the Lifetime Achievement Award.

She led India in 12 Test matches and 16 ODIs.

“It’s a good feeling that women cricketers are finally getting their due. Those days were tough but we were still able to lay a solid foundation for the future,” said Rangaswamy. Edulji called Rangaswamy a “great all-rounder.”

Vaman Viswanath Kumar and late Ramakant Desai have been nominated for the BCCI Special Award in recognition of their yeoman services to Indian cricket, the statement added.

Previous Post
Next Post

post written by: