Monday, February 27, 2017

Virat Kohli named captain of the year, Ben Stokes best batsman at awards

Virat Kohli and Ben Stokes

New Delhi: India Test skipper Virat Kohli has been named as the ‘Captain of the Year’ at the 10th annual ESPNcricinfo Awards. Kohli led India to nine wins out of 12 Tests in the year goneby.

Englishman Ben Stokes won the Test Batting Performance of the Year Award for his incredible counterattacking innings of 258 runs off 198 balls against South Africa in Cape Town. Stokes’ teammate Stuart Broad’s six for 17 in the third Test ensured a series victory for England and fetched him the Test Bowling Performance of the Year Award for the second year running.

Winners were selected by an independent jury including former cricket greats, ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers and global correspondents, comprising Ian Chappell, Mahela Jayawardene, Ramiz Raja, Isa Guha, Sambit Bal, Courtney Walsh, Mark Butcher and Simon Taufel among others.

Previous Post
Next Post

post written by: