Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Seamer Sakure stars in MP"s win over Mumbai

Chennai: Pacer Chandrakant Sakure (5-25) finished with a five-wicket haul as Madhya Pradesh registered an 80-run win over Ranji Trophy finalists Mumbai in a Group ‘C’ match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here yesterday.

Mumbai restricted Madhya Pradesh to 214 in 45.1 overs but themselves fell for meager 134 in 38.4 overs Put in to bat, Madhya Pradesh opener Ankit Dane (46) and Sohraab Dhaliwal (51) chipped in with important contributions to take the team past 200-run mark.

For Mumbai, Shardul Thakur (3-27) was the pick of the bowlers with three scalps.

In reply, Mumbai kept losing wickets at regular interval with Sakure and Saransh Jain (3-30) doing the damage, sharing eight wickets between them. Abhishek Nayar top scored for Mumbai with 24 runs.

Brief scores

Madhya Pradesh 214 in 45.1 overs (S Dhaliwal 51, A Dane 46; S Thakur 3-27) beat Mumbai 134 in 38.4 overs (A Nayar 24; C Sakure 5-25, S Jain 3-30) by 80 runs

Previous Post
Next Post

post written by: