Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Virat Kohli to set a record with top honours at BCCI Annual Awards

Virat Kohli

Team India captain Virat Kohli will be presented with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award given to the international cricketer of the year at the BCCI Annual Awards to be held in Bangalore next Wednesday.

It’s his third!
Kohli, who received the award in 2011-12 and in 2014-15, will become the first Indian cricketer to be bestowed with the honour on three occasions.

R Ashwin will also become the first Indian cricketer to receive the Dilip Sardesai Award twice. Ashwin first won the award, instituted to honour the best performance of an all-rounder, during the WI series in 2011. The BCCI Annual Awards committee consisting of N Ram, Ramchandra Guha and Diana Edulji had earlier nominated Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar for the Col CK Nayudu Award.

Award for MCA
The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has been chosen as the best state association of the season (2015-16) for winning the Ranji Trophy, the CK Nayudu Trophy and also the women’s plate league group. They were runners-up in Cooch Behar Trophy, Vijay Merchant Trophy and women’s one-day elite group.

Previous Post
Next Post

post written by: